Christmas Donation 2009

Our christmas donation was given to “Caritas Socialis” and “HIVmobil”. The organization “Caritas Socialis” supports and attends people from the beginning to the end of their lifetime. Their specialized offers are for people, who have dementia or disseminated sclerosis. Incurable cancer-suffering people are accomponied mobile and stationarily. The organization “HIVmobil” offers a HIV specific, medical … >> read more

01.12.2009

Domain name rules clarified

The uncertainties in the jurisprudence about the possibility to cancel domain names formed by using the names of others has now been clarified. In two decisions regarding domain names for websites criticizing the activity of the names’ owners the Austrian Supreme Court made new clear rulings. First of all, the already established rule was confirmed … >> read more

01.10.2009

Imitation Marketing

In a recent judgement the Austrian Supreme Court had to decide a case on knives which were protected as registered Community Designs. These knives were sold in sets consisting of 11 knives, whereas the knives were packed in two layers of 5 and respectively 6 knives such that when the cover of the package was taken away all … >> read more

01.09.2009

“Biopatent Monitoring Committee” gives positive report

The European Directive on the legal protection of biotechnological inventions 98/44/EC was transformed into national law on 10 June 2005. The Austrian Parliament has connected the establishment of a special monitoring committee to this transformation. This committee (the “Biopatent Monitoring Committee”) had the task of monitoring the impact of this transformation into Austrian law on human … >> read more

01.08.2009

The Fate of Disclaimers in Europe

The “Postkantoor”-decision of the European Court of Justice (ECJ case C-363/99 “Postkantoor”) has ruled among other points in point 6 “Directive 89/104 prevents a trade mark registration authority from registering a mark for certain goods and services on condition that they do not possess a particular characteristic.” OHIM has already refused to accept some disclaimers on … >> read more

01.07.2009
  • KEYWORDS

  • PERIOD

    • 2019
    • 2018
    • 2017
    • 2016
    • 2015
    • 2014
    • 2013
    • 2012
    • 2011
    • 2010
    • 2009
    • 2008
    • 2007
    • 2006
    • 2005
    • 2004
    • 2003
    • 2002
    • 2001
    • 2000

Weihnachtsspende 2009

Unsere diesjährige Weihnachtsspende haben wir den Organisationen „Caritas Socialis“ und „HIVmobil“ zukommen lassen. Die Organisation „Caritas Socialis“ unterstützt und begleitet Menschen am Beginn und am Lebensende. Bekannt ist die CS für ihre spezialisierten Angebote für an Alzheimer/Demenzen bzw. Multiple Sklerose erkrankte Menschen. Unheilbar krebskranke Menschen werden mobil und stationär im CS Hospiz Rennweg die letzten … >> weiterlesen

01.12.2009

Domainnamen: Klärung durch den OGH

Die Unsicherheiten in der Rechtsprechung betreffend die Löschung eines Domainnamens, der einen fremden Namen gebraucht, sind nun beseitigt. Zwei Entscheidungen des OGH zu Domains für Webseiten, die Aktivitäten des Namensträgers kritisieren, geben Aufschluss. Zunächst wurde die bereits vorliegende Rechtsprechung bestätigt, dass bei Gebrauch einer nicht-bekannten Marke als Domainname der Markeninhaber keinen Anspruch auf Löschung der … >> weiterlesen

01.10.2009

Imitationsmarketing

Kürzlich hatte der OGH einen Fall betreffend Geschmacksmuster-geschützte Messer zu entscheiden. Die Messer wurden in Sets aus 11 Messern verkauft, wobei die Messer in einer Verpackung aus zwei Lagen mit 5 bzw. 6 Messern dargeboten wurden. Bei geöffneter Verpackung waren die Griffe aller Messer sichtbar. Die Verletzung des registrierten Gemeinschaftsgeschmacksmusters war ein eindeutiger Fall und wurde seitens des … >> weiterlesen

01.09.2009

„Biopatent Monitoring Komitee“ erstellt positiven Bericht

Die EG-Richtlinie 98/44 über den rechtlichen Schutz biotechnologischer Erfindungen ist am 10. Juni 2005 ins österreichische Recht umgesetzt worden. Das österreichische Parlament hat in diesem Zusammenhang ein spezielles Monitoring-Komitee (das „Biopatent Monitoring Komitee“) geschaffen, das die Aufgabe hat, die Auswirkungen dieser Umsetzung in das österreichische Recht zu beobachten, insbesondere in Bezug auf: Menschenrechte, Tiere, Pflanzen und … >> weiterlesen

01.08.2009

Das Schicksal von Disclaimern in Europa

Der EuGH hat in der Rechtssache C–363/99 “Postkantoor” C–363/99 u.a. in Punkt 6 entschieden, dass “die Richtlinie 89/104 eine für die Eintragung von Marken zuständige Behörde daran hindert, eine Marke für bestimmte Waren oder Dienstleistungen unter der Voraussetzung einzutragen, dass sie ein bestimmtes Merkmal nicht aufweisen”. Das HABM hat bereits einige Disclaimer aufgrund dieses Urteils abgelehnt. … >> weiterlesen

01.07.2009
  • KEYWORDS

  • ZEITRAUM

    • 2018
    • 2017
    • 2016
    • 2015
    • 2014
    • 2013
    • 2012
    • 2011
    • 2010
    • 2009
    • 2008
    • 2007
    • 2006
    • 2005
    • 2004
    • 2003
    • 2002
    • 2001
    • 2000